Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Members tend to recommend the same name brands of pipes, the old standbys, including

Savenelli, Peterson, Missouri Meerschaums, Stanwell, Nording, and others. Do you have

favorites that never get recommended, that you feel have slipped through the fissures of

pipe smoking consciousness? I think Johs are under-rated, possibly BC's, and the American

pipes by Benton, sold as house pipes by Iwan Ries. These are my examples; what are yours?

Aug 1, 2012
Wally Frank. I haven't gotten a bad one yet and you can get them for next to nothing if you're willing to do a resto.
Also Arley Curtz. His pipes are absolutely amazing smokers and cheap too. You can't buy a better pipe for ≈$100-$150 IMO. Here's one of his pipes available for $170.
38799.jpg

stosho

Might Stick Around
Aug 10, 2013
I am new to the world of pipes but I have been enjoying a Medico Jet Stream lately. It is also the best job I have done to date on restoration.

delkhouri

Can't Leave
May 4, 2013
Columbus Ohio
I have a Brebbia that smokes well, better than any Savinelli I have smoked but all I hear about is the great value of Savinelli's
That is a nice Arley Curtz. I was wondering about his pipes. I think Pipestud has some for sale last week.

simnettpratt

Lifer
Nov 21, 2011
My Canadian Brigham 3-dot Moutaineer with the rock maple insert is one fine smoker, one of my best, and is about $80. For all the moisture in the insert when you remove it, it is apparently doing one heck of a job in there. I've had several French Butz Choquins that have all been excellent, and I won't have paid more than about $100 each. I think that's what you mean by BC; if so, I agree.
To figure if you like pipes, I am in the camp of you can't go wrong with an MM cob or two, with some decent tobacco. There are good deals out there. Good thread, mso.

teufelhund

Lifer
Mar 5, 2013