PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

yllwbeard

Lurker
Nov 23, 2014
Hello everyone, Im new to pipe smoking and recently picked up a few estate pipes while in Naples and Athens. I really have no idea of what to look for when searching for vintage and estate pipes so I would really appreciate some tips and info on the ones I have provided pictures of. Also what are some good starter tobaccos?
Thanks, yllwbeard
west2_zpsf4a8e6c2.jpg
[/URL][/img]

yllwbeard

Lurker
Nov 23, 2014
Also what is the best way to clean a vintage/estate pipe? Should I clean the bowl as well as the stem?

ejames

Lifer
Oct 6, 2009
Welcome to the forum! There's a ton of information on cleaning and care of pipes here--

http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/forum/pipe-repair-and-maintenance

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
Welcome to the forum. ejames gave you good info on cleaning. Pipe cleaners are a cheap investment that will keep your pipe smoking well. You can never have enough pipe cleaners.

Now tobaccos. It seems like everyone recommends 1Q as a starter because it is generally available everywhere, albeit under different stores names, and Prince albert is a good practice blend to get your packing, lighting and puffing skills up to scratch.

If you can get to a real pipe tobacco retailer then I suggest going and speaking with the owner who can make suggestions. Failing that visit some of the sponsors site on the left hand side of this page and check out their samples pack offerings.

Visit the reviews here and on tobaccoreviews.com for some ideas; and always feel free to ask the members here about anything. There is a vast amount of knowledge with this group and we love giving advice- solicited or not.

Enjoy your time here and journey with the hobby.

yllwbeard

Lurker
Nov 23, 2014