Pipes Magazine » General Pipe Smoking Discussion

Tags:  No tags yet. 

Trouble with Flake Tobaccos

(30 posts)
  1. cwarmouth

cwarmouth

Login to Send PM

Guys, what the heck do you have to do to keep flake tobaccos lit? I am just getting into flakes. I have three (one that I bought and two were gifts from a member on the forum) and I love the flavors, But I have to rub them out or shred them to get them to stay lit for more than 10 seconds. I have tried folding the flake lengthwise and then the other way and stuffing it into the bowl like I am led to believe other flake smokers do, but I have no luck. What's the secret?

Posted 1 year ago #
  2. prairiedruid

prairiedruid

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Maybe try cube cutting them.

Posted 1 year ago #
  3. mayfair70

mayfair70

Felis Nicotiana combustus

Login to Send PM

First, what flakes are you smoking. Err, attempting to smoke??

I cube cut, rub them out, then let them dry for half an hour or so. Char light. Tamp. True light then puff like crazy for a couple seconds and I am good as gold usually. The air in my house is sufficiently dry most of the year to allow tobacco to actually lose moisture, some places in the world are not so fortunate. You may want to check your ambient humidity.

The secret of life is honesty and fair dealing. If you can fake that, you’ve got it made. -Groucho Marx
    Mouse-catcher on The Black Frigate
    Posted 1 year ago #
  4. jorchamp

jorchamp

Login to Send PM

Do not complicate flakes. Rub them out with TLC. Put them in your pipe. Light up and enjoy. You can put them in your pipe without rubbing them out, but more of a challenge to keep lit. Yet a deeper and more complex taste.

Posted 1 year ago #
  5. tschiraldi

tschiraldi

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM