PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

uperepik

(Oldtown)
Mar 8, 2017
I've only had aro's and a few burley's so far which I enjoy. I figured I would give a English blend a try so I Bought a tin of Dunhill My Mixture 965 since it was the number one seller. First I want to say I have no doubt that's a great tobacco and I'm a total noob. however I had a hard time with it. It smells like Copenhagen fine cut, and had a spice taste to eat that was a bit funky. So do these things change with aging or is this just the kind of taste to expect from a English? Is there another that would be better for a beginner to try? What tobacco gives that Copenhagen smell?

stvalentine

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 13, 2015
Northern Germany
Well, the first try on English or Balkan tobaccos is always very special, especially when you come from aros. Some people will never get it and some are instantly hooked (or get to love them over time). So keep trying for a while. The slight tanginess is one of the characteristics but it is less with Balkan mixtures.

pagan

Lifer
May 6, 2016
West Texas
Might be the orientals your not used to, give Dunhill BB1938 and EMP a try, bit milder and a great way to break into English, and both are great smokes

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Definitely jar it and keep it in the cabinet. You'll come back to it and be delighted, eventually, I think. In the meantime, if you'd like to try a mild, extra refined English, I'd suggest Nat Sherman 536. You can buy it online in a tin. I tried it at the store in Manhattan, bought in bulk, and was immediately pleased. I have another tin on hand. Another milder English available in bulk is Peter Stokkeby's Proper English. Buy in small quantities until you get a range on what you like. Your tastes will evolve a lot over a year or two. What you find harsh now will later unfold for you, in all probability.

uperepik

(Oldtown)
Mar 8, 2017