PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

lawmax3

Can't Leave
Jan 18, 2013
Just gave a first try to Erinmore Flake and loved it!

I left the tin in my car for 2 days and then baked it for 3 hours at 195F. I think it was Old Cajun who suggested baking this stuff and he was right.

The tobacco was dark with a rich fruity flavor. I am not sure it was "Juicy Fruit" flavor, but it was fruity and had a nice peppery note from the Burley when exhaled through the nose.

I think I will try baking PS LNF next to see if it improves as well.

cobguy

Lifer
Oct 18, 2013
I've been meaning to try this with a Va and a VaPer as well.
Thanks for the heads-up!

simnettpratt

Lifer
Nov 21, 2011
Are you saying I can put some Luxury Navy Flake in the oven for three hours at 185°? What will happen? Wrap it in aluminum foil first?

lawmax3

Can't Leave
Jan 18, 2013
I am no expert here, the Erinmore was my first attempt at baking. What I am going to try is just putting some LNF in a small mason jar for 3-6 hours and see if it makes the LNF any better than it is currently. The baking is supposed to take the new rough edges off of the tobacco, sort of like speeding up the aging process. LNF is pretty good as is but if it improves more that would be great. I guess wrapping in aluminum foil wouldn't hurt.

cobguy

Lifer
Oct 18, 2013
Here's a thread using Erinmore as an example:
http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/tame-your-erinmore#post-409360
Searching the internet I've seen different times / temps but they are similar.

cobguy

Lifer
Oct 18, 2013
... putting some LNF in a small mason jar
Don't bake it with the rubber gasket lids ... use foil on the tops and then lid them after cooling some.

mikestanley

Lifer
May 10, 2009
Akron area of Ohio