Transaction Gone Bad - Advice Needed

(55 posts)
  • Started 8 months ago by pipesmokingtom
  • Latest reply from ssjones
  1. pipesmokingtom

pipesmokingtom

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Back in April, I sold off some of my aged bulk including a 4oz jar of bulk 2002 McClelland #27 on a Facebook group. The fellow who purchased it was previously unknown to me. He PayPal'd me the asking price and I payed for shipping. He lives in Malaysia and I shipped to a family member of his who then forwarded it on to him in his home country.

Fast forward to now, 5 months later and the fella messages me and says he opened the jar and was met with the smell of latakia. He smoked some and he says it confirmed his suspicion that the blend contains latakia and he was obviously expecting an aged straight Virginia.

He's asking for a full refund, at which point he'll send the tobacco back.

I'm at a bit of an impasse here, because I have no previous experience with this guy and would be trusting his pallet that the blend isn't what it's supposed to be, and trusting that he'll ship the tobacco back after I refund the money.

Should I treat this as a retail return and expect the product back before I issue a refund, refund partial to cover shipping back and then send the difference upon receipt, or tell him tough kitty paws?

Obviously the stuff was jarred 16 years ago and I can't be 100% confident some sort of mixup didn't happen back then, but at the same time I don't want to be left with nothing but my **** in my hand if this guy is pulling something.

5 months seems like an awful long game to scam someone out of 50 bucks and 4oz of tobacco, so I don't know!

What say you?

"We have an unspoken, mutual understanding to ignore the things we hate about each other so we can continue to enjoy the things we love about each other."
    Posted 8 months ago #
  2. crashthegrey

crashthegrey

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM