PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cavendish

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 22, 2013
I feel like a total ass asking but;

1. Has anyone ever used Mother's Carnuba Wax in the red can to wax their bowls it?

2. I have sheets beexwax I bought about 8-10yr ago, could I use that with a soft cloth?
I feel like a total noob, just wow lol.

cavendish

Jan 22, 2013
thanks roth. I wasn't sure and no one really mentioned anything about it. I feel better asking and knowing the answer now. You deserve a bowl!

cavendish

Jan 22, 2013
in reguards to polishing stems and bowls. I hear it is not good to remove the stems all the time. What about for filter pipes and having to change the filter every bowl or every other bowl? I remove mine after they have cooled and take the filter out and pass a pipe cleaner to dry them a bit more. I let them sit overnight then put them back together in the morning

cajunguy

Jan 22, 2012
Metairie, LA
I wouldn't recommend using carnuba from a can. I experimented with it once and the results were less than pleasing.
The reasoning is this: the form of carnuba we're talking about is a moist wax. It's meant to go on and be wiped off materials that are less porous than wood. Some may use it to good effect, but I have not. It does however make for a good stem polisher if you're short on other materials. Vulcanite is similar in consistency and porosity to the clear coat on your vehicle. In fact, the UV protectants in some of the better car waxes serve as a hell of a ward against oxidation.