PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmwolford

Lifer
Jul 26, 2012
WV, USA
I thought a quick run down on the few tools I'm using for this project would be helpful. Everything here is available at Home Depot except the vulcrylic file, which came from Amazon.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s4Aw4djljoo

brdavidson

Lifer
Dec 30, 2012
Thanks Greg, good starter for a complete noob such as myself. I'm heading to our pipe club meeting tonight and I might pickup a eubachon at the shop and see if I can't do something like this with hand tools. The power tool experiment I had was disastrous so maybe this will work instead.

phil67

Lifer
Dec 14, 2013
Nice video Greg and thanks for putting it up. I have quite few tools from my days of making handmade custom knives years ago which includes a 2” Wilton belt grinder. Mine is much older than the one pictured and does not have a variable speed control as they did not have that option back in the late 70’s , but it basically looks just like the one pictured. My buffer is also one speed (high), but if handled properly it can and should do the job, well at least it did for steel and the plethora of exotic woods that I used for the handles. I also have a 9” band saw which needs some cleaning and a new blade, as does my workshop which is a total mess. I’ll soon be posting a picture of an ebauchon block kit I have for a first try, and another that I plan on using after that which is a plateau block kit.