Tobaccos for the Newbie to Avoid Tongue Bite?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

ml23

Lurker
May 14, 2012
Hello Everyone,
I'm new to pipe smoking (and smoking in general) so I have very little knowledge when it comes to selecting tobaccos. I do know, however, that because of the sensitivity of my oral tissues, I want to avoid tongue bite as much as possible. I know I likely won't be able to avoid it completely but I certainly want to minimize it.
I've heard many conflicting thoughts on this subject and I understand that it is dependent on individual body chemistry, but if there are a few tobaccos (specific brands, blends, makes, etc.) that seem to be easy on the palate and have few incidences of bite, I would really appreciate hearing about them.
Any suggestions or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Michael

May 3, 2010
Las Vegas, NV
Welcome to the forum and the wonderful brotherhood of the briar.
Well first things first there's styles. Aromatics typically will burn hotter and have a better chance of giving tongue bite, especially for beginners. English/Latakia blends will be cooler than aromatics, but they have a completely different taste. Definitely reccommend giving each style a try at first. Pick up a sampler of an aromatic, an English/Latakia, and a Perique blend.
As far as blends I smoke that I would think to be good for beginners I'd reccommend Lane's Limited 1Q, any of the 7 Seas line from Mac Baren, and either Connoisseur's Choice or Sunset Breeze by Peterson. For aromatics they tend to smoke fairly cool and don't irritate the mouth quite so much, plus their flavor transfer from tin note to smoke is pretty good. Also they all take a light well and burn evenly with little need for relights, provided you remember to tamp the ash down periodically.