PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

wtabasco

Lurker
Oct 20, 2012
  • I am new to pipe smoking and I am looking for some tobacco recommendations.
    I like something with some flavor, sweetness but not overpowering, mild nicotine levels, and with a nice aroma my family will enjoy.
    Any suggestions?

jack87

Lurker
Jun 24, 2012
Peterson's Sherlock Holmes is great, As is Boswell's Xmas cookie. I would look for a sampler and get some cobs and just have a fun day of smoking.

May 3, 2010
Las Vegas, NV
Aromatics wise definitely go with Lane Limited 1Q, Mac Baren's Vanilla Cream (I feel the flake has a bit more of an intensity to the flavors both tobacco and casing) or any of their 7 Seas line (my favorite is the Regular Blend but Royal and Black are very popular as well). McClelland's Premium Aromatic line seems good for this as well. I've sampled Best of Show and Town Topic and have enjoyed both of them tremendously. Both have the approval of the War Council.
One that can be tricky to track down as a Virginia, but has great flavor and a good room note would be Samuel Gawith's Full Virginia Flake. Another VA that is pretty good with an alright room note is GL Pease's Union Square.
If you're looking to win the approval of non-smokers I can say, for the most part, Latakia/Balkan blends tend to go over less well than aromatics.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
1Q for sure. Every B&M has it under their own name. It's a good one to cut your teeth on. C&D'd Autumn Evening, like Town Topic, is a maple blend and very nice for this time of year. If you like chocolate with a bit of extra something Two Friends English Chocolate gives you a bit of English with a chocoalte backdrop.

Also check out J.M Boswells web site and descriptions. I've never had their blends but many here regard them highly.

Good luck and welcome to the forum.

dochudson

Lifer
May 11, 2012