PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kdflyer

Lurker
Jul 16, 2014
I've been smoking a pipe for 3 or 4 months, and Molto Dolce is the only tobacco that I like well enough to purchase again. I've tried Boswells, P&W, and most of the suggestions for arms that have the taste of the room note. Can you suggest something similar to the characteristics of Molto Dolce.

Without this forum I would have given up trying to smoke a pipe. I have learned so much from everyone here. Thanks!

phred

Lifer
Dec 11, 2012
Depending on exactly which characteristics of Molto Dolce you're after, you might consider Lane's 1-Q - it's a classic and well-liked aromatic (I've had complete strangers compliment me on the room note when smoking it in public), and although it doesn't taste precisely like it smells, it's a pleasant all-day smoke that's not terribly fussy and smells pretty good. Like MD, there's a strong hint of vanilla, but that's about the extent of the flavor/aroma match with MD - my wife swears that 1-Q smells like chocolate as well.

daimyo

Lifer
May 15, 2014
I hear if you stuff an Mounds bar into your bowl, it's almost identical. :wink: Just teasing the old MD a bit, I like some aro's myself. MD never did it for me but I would get compliments on the room note consistently.

wyfbane

Lifer
Apr 26, 2013
Tennessee
If you mean crazy sweet, I reccomend:
1. Dan Tobacco "Devil's Holiday" sweet berry yum
2. Peter Stokkebye "Black Trouffle" nom nom nom
3. McClelland "Georgian Cream" Very nice 3rd place.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
There are some extra sweet aromatics out there other than Molto, but I haven't gone for them. However,

some pleasantly sweet blends with good room notes include Lane's LL-7, which is sweeter than 1Q, and

Altadis Queen Anne's Revenge, which is a tasty Va/bur/Cav with rum flavoring and a great room note.

A little more sophisticated, but something that might expand your horizons, are the Peterson 2013 Special