PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bernie2

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 23, 2015
I'm pretty new to pipe smoking pipes. I've tried a few new Lane Limited blends (BC-A and 1-Q) as well as a few Newminster blends. So far I'm a fan of the Lane Limited BC-A and 1-Q. I like the Newmister Blackberry Brandy. I'm not a big fan of the Newminster Vanilla Delight or the McClelland Crips Apple or Fresh Apple.
I'd like to try some other tobaccos. Any recommendations from the group?
Thanks for the feedback!

shanelktown

Lifer
Feb 10, 2015
Seems like you like aromatics? Have you tried any non aromatics or good English blends? What do you enjoy about the 1Q and BCA? Rlp-6 is another good lane aromatic.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
I guess the best suggestion is to try sampler packages. In the main, buy small quantities

of everything that seems to have an appealing description.
You might want to expand from aromatics (flavored blends) to genre-specific blends.

Virginias are a good start, and SG/Medium Virginia Flake (aka. Golden Glow) or Capstan Yellow are representative.
What are the main genres? Go to the home page of LuxuryTobaccoReviews and check out the categories listed there.

oklansas

Can't Leave
Apr 16, 2013
DC
Sutliff's aromatics are pretty nice in general - lots of choice and variety. I'm a big fan of Sutliff Bacchanalia, it's fairly different than pretty much anything else I've ever had. I have a feeling that most folks will either love it or hate it.

May 3, 2010
Las Vegas, NV
Aromatics- Mac Baren's Vanilla Cream Flake; Peterson's Connoisseur's Choice or Nutty Cut; Dan Tobacco's Blue Note or Devil's Holiday; Trout Stream is another popular aromatic which I think PipesAndCigars.com carries.
Virginia- Dunhill Flake; Samuel Gawaith's Golden Glow; Capstan Yellow
VaPer- Peter Stokkebye's Luxury Bullseye Flake; Robert McConnell's Scottish Cake; H&H's Viprati; Escudo