PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tunek

Lurker
Jul 16, 2013
I smoked for the first time last friday (gosh I'm new to this :D ).
I bought a Mr. Brog "Old boy" and Mac Baren Vannila Cream loose cut tobacco. I don't think I did it the right way, beacuse I had a taste and smell of regular cigarete smoke and it didn't burn quite well. I guess I have to learn how to pack it well....my question is: as many reviewers statet this tobacco is quite good, it should taste and smell good. Should I try to "smoke" it better or should I try another tobacco...I sure would like to have a nice taste and it should smell good too. Maybe I'm smoking to quick, I don't know...
any suggestions? There are plenty of good advice on the forum, still I'm not quite sure...
Thanks

nsfisher

Lifer
Nov 26, 2011
Nova Scotia, Canada
Good choice for a first pipe. Can't go wrong with a Mr. Brog. As for the baccy and the taste..... I don't care for Vanilla Crème, but that is just me. Beginner should start with something mild and no bite and stays lit well. My choice is Carter Hall or Prince Albert, but neither would have the smell you are looking for. I suggest some 1-Q if you are looking for all the attributes listed. Another good choice is Three Blind Moose, Butternut Burley and the list could go on for pages. These 5 listed would give you what you are looking for. As for taste; it will take you a Month or three to start to pick up on them well. Stick with it mate and enjoy

barleynbaccy

Can't Leave
May 31, 2013
nsfisher has it right, just follow his suggestions. Also I recently remember someone stating 100 bowls is about the number it takes to "get it". I couldn't agree more with that statment, but your smokes will start vastly improving with time and skill long before that.