PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bassbug

Lifer
Dec 29, 2016
I've been reading about the discontinuation of several blends over the last few days here and it got me wondering.
Being a complete newbie, I certainly have no answer, but maybe some of the more established pipe smokers here can help.
Overall, if we compare today to lets say 1980 or a bit earlier...a span of 40 years, more or less, do we have more blends available today? Less? About the same number?
Just to be clear, I'm referring to the number of different blends, not the number of companies.

kanse

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 9, 2016
More blends, absolutely.

Pipe smokers are obsessed with tasting 'new' blends and tobacco companies invest in that.

downinit

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 18, 2016
I would guess that there are more blends but fewer pipe smokers. (Not to mention the war on smoking)

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK
Easy answer, more blends today, many more. The internet has made formerly unavailable blends available. Forty years ago I was restricted to what my wee brick and mortar carried and a couple of mail order vendors.

blendtobac

Lifer
Oct 16, 2009
There are more blends now that ever, but this will be as big as it gets unless they repeal the deeming regulations. For now, we have ceased all development of new blends, and there are other companies who have done the same.
Russ

toobfreak

Lifer
Dec 19, 2016
Pipe smokers are obsessed with tasting 'new' blends and tobacco companies invest in that.
Not me. I've found that pipe tobaccos all fall into a number of categories, and everything within each is a variation of the theme. Once I find something I really like, I pretty much stick with it! Why would I keep buying new blends that mostly disappoint me when I could be smoking a known quantity? So yeah, there are blends I've never tried yet, but sooner or later I eventually try a few new ones here and there.