PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

plateauguy

Lifer
Mar 19, 2013
I've notice that we are starting to get quite a few members that are brand new to the pipe. I thought I'd add a few words of encouragement.
I started occasionally smoking a pipe more than 40 years ago. I am a beginner. When I started, there was no information out there showing me how to load, light, or tamp a pipe. There were very few blends of tobacco available. Everything was trial and error (mostly errors). There was no one that I could ask questions. The closest B&M store was 30 miles away (still is).
You are so lucky you have found this forum! In the few short months that I have belonged, I have learned more about tobacco, pipe shapes, cleaning, and restoration than I ever knew existed. I've seen pictures of pipes that make me drool, heard of brands that I didn't know existed, read tobacco reviews that have given my the courage to branch out. And most importantly, if I've had a question, fellow pipers have been there to willingly share their knowledge.
With all of that being said, don't get discouraged - practice makes almost perfect. Don't be afraid to ask, or talk about a problem - the answers are here. Don't sweat the small stuff - it will come. Most of all, Welcome!

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
Hear, hear! Well put, sir. I've been smoking a pipe since 1970 and learn something new here every day. Take heed of plateaugy's words as this forum is a gift from heaven.

numbersix

Lifer
Jul 27, 2012
You are so lucky you have found this forum!
+1
Excellent post PG. I'm a relative newbie but thanks to this forum - I think I have probably learned more in my short time smoking a pipe than my grandfather did (who smoked all of his life).
But pipe smoking is almost an art and takes patience, so... be patient! :wink:

irwinmetro

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 31, 2013