PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

wolfman9

Lurker
Aug 27, 2018
I’ve been considering a Dr. Grabow Omega, based on that I really like the look of that style pipe, and it being reasonably priced.

I’m still fairly new to pipe smoking, but have bought a couple pipes already, my current favorite being a rather heavy no name German basket pipe with a full bent stem.

Are the Omegas a good choice, and something I should expect to be happy with long term, or should I stay away from the Dr. Grabows?

Also, what is the stem made of on the current Omegas? Vulcanite? Plastic?
Any other suggestions of similar pipes with the military bit and a bent stem would also be much appreciated, just bear in mind that I’m on a limited budget, else I probably would be considering a Peterson instead.
Thanks.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I like the looks of the Omega a lot. However, I am partial to the Royalton series for its acrylic stems. The Dr. Grabow non-acrylic stems, some sort of plastic, seem to be pretty durable, but I like acrylic or Vulcanite for a permanent stem that rarely needs replacing. The Royalton costs just three or four dollars more, if that. I use Savinelli adaptors in my Dr. Grabow's to make them non-filter pipes, and I especially like the bulldog version of the Royalton for its careful shaping that looks quite artisan-like to me, some of those old timers on the Dr. Grabow line, in Sparta N.C., I think.

ashdigger

Lifer
Jul 30, 2016
Vegas Baby!!!
Can't speak to current Omegas, but I own an Omega I purchased new in 2011 (my second pipe) and it's a great smoker. It even suffered through my learning phase. Toss the filters and you'll really enjoy it. Btw, my Omega has an Acrylic stem.

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015