PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

phred

Lifer
Dec 11, 2012
I've been working my way (slowly) through the H&H sampler that I ordered, and the final sample of the bunch was House of Lords. Since I'm a noob and I'm only smoking a bowl here and a bowl there, I've held off on posting anything about first impressions, aside from my first attempt at Black House...
But getting to that first bowl of House of Lords has been an adventure. Where to start?
I placed the order back in January, along with an order for a bag of seconds from Missouri Meerschaum. My mother-in-law had recently passed away, and we were scheduled to travel to Seattle for the memorial service. The tobacco arrived just before we left - and I lost my job right around the same time. 8O
So - I smoked that quick bowl of Black House in one of my briars and we headed off to Seattle. The rest of the H&H order waited patiently for my return. I caught a cold while traveling, so the first few bowls after I got back were nothing to write home about - I'm just now rotating back through, and it's amazing how much one's sinuses can affect a smoke. Last week, I finally got to the House of Lords baggie and packed a pipe to smoke while I did chores around the house. Just as I got the match lit to do the initial char, my phone rang - it was a recruiter, who wanted to do a face-to-face interview on short notice. I did not have time to even start that bowl. :(
The next day, I tried again - but as I've noted, I only smoke outside, and the weather was shifting. High winds and cold temperatures made the process of lighting the pipe nearly impossible, and even once I got the thing lit, it was just miserable trying to keep it lit with an Arctic wind whistling around me.`I gave up about 1/3 of the way into that bowl. :cry: