PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 8, 2013
As I sit here drinking my coffee with Irish Cream, and smoking on my pipe, I realize the two were destined to go together. Coffee I've enjoyed most of my life. Smoking has been a love hate relationship. But I'm new to pipe, and have found I highly enjoy it. So why then, I wonder as I sip my cup and puff my pipe, did I not discover this match made in heaven earlier in life? I smell the aroma of my coffee and the warmth of the cup in my hand. I smell the aroma of my tobacco and the warmth of the pipe in my other hand. I feel relaxed, at peace, content. This is beauty... the swirl of the cream in my coffee, and the swirl of the pipe smoke in the air.
Who else enjoys a cup of coffee with their smoke?

gwtwdbss

Lifer
Jun 13, 2012
A nice dark roast and delicious bowl is pure bliss. Especially this time of year.

Jan 8, 2013
@Lawrence... I'm a new pipe smoker Lawrence, I need all the suggestions I can get when it comes to tobaccos. Otherwise I'll never really find those that I may enjoy over others.
@gwtwdbss Although new, I have to say I agree. Not sure what smoking a pipe is like in the spring or summer though... I have to assume warmer ;)

sparroa

Lifer
Dec 8, 2010
I think you should try a nice burley blend with your coffee.
My favourite straight burley is Wessex Burley Slices.
It is supposedly the closest thing you can get to the original Edgeworth Sliced blend, if you ever hear of that in your travels - it was a famous old fashioned American tobacco.
It has a deep dark nutty and woodsy taste that reminds me at times of bitter cocoa and at other times of coffee beans - I believe it is cased with molasses but that doesn't come out in the smoke much. There isn't a lot of sweetness, mostly just dry burley flavour...
It's not cheap at around $11 a tin but let's be honest it is not that expensive either if you really enjoy it.