PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

lloydcole

Lurker
Jun 20, 2019
I'm returning to the pipe after a sabbatical of 3 or 4 years. It's nice to be back.

I'm an outdoor smoker in New England. The Summers tend to be rather humid and I think this might be the key but I'm not sure. I never was an expert pipe smoker.

I smoke mostly latakia mixtures. I was a Penzance/Frog Morton on the Town guy, but no more, obviously.... I'm trying various mixtures right now.

What I'm wondering about is, even with my tried and tested mixtures and favourite pipes, I'm not enjoying the taste of the smoke so much until the bowl is about half smoked. Then I'm getting the flavour and the sweetness. I'm also needing to re-light more than I recall needing to...

Does this sound like a moisture thing? I'm not sure leaving the tobacco out of the container is really drying it out, around here....

I fill the pipe as per the SmokingPipes instruction page I studied way back when I started. I don't think that's the issue.

The closest I've had to enjoying a full pipe was last night with a Becker billiard and Seattle Plum Pudding.

64alex

Part of the Furniture Now
May 10, 2016
If you need many relighting it is likely a too humid or too packed baccy. Try to dry it more and pack it lightly.
About that you enjoy more in the second half you will find likely most of the people including myself that they prefer more the first half because in the second half you could start to taste the ashes (you can diminish this emptying the ash half way) and also the bottom tobacco get soaked with moisture and tar and get acrid. If you don't like too much the first half again probably it is because it is too wet or packed too tightly.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013