PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

eightywon

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 4, 2014
Anyone try it? For those who don't know it is a detox where for at least 10 days the only thing you have is a lemonade made of water, fresh squeezed lemons, maple syrup and cayenne pepper. It became a weight loss fad for many, but it's not its purpose. I've had success with it several times in the past. Even better is that the discipline it takes to not eat for a couple of weeks is so intense, it made not smoking cigarettes achievable. Unfortunately, once the cleanse was over, I would continue to smoke cigarettes. Well since retuning to the pipe and having a bday coming up at the end of the month, I have decided to tie one on, do the cleanse, and only pick up the pipe. Wish we luck!

masspiper

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 14, 2014
I wish you luck. I am not a doctor but have a hard time thinking not eating for that long is healthy. I think I would rather just eat healthy.

daimyo

Lifer
May 15, 2014
Straight talk, cleanses are BS. There is nothing cleansing about these extreme diets and more often than not, they are bad for you. Juices are good but eating the raw fruit or vegetable is better. Cayenne may have some healthy benefits but nothing you cant get from just eating it. You body expels waste in specific fashions and I have never had anyone scientifically literate who could tell me what toxins these are supposed to get rid of or by what process. Now if you normally eat crappy food, these may make you feel better momentarily but the same feeling could come from a healthy diet change. If you are determined, I hope it gives you what you need but be aware, it's likely more placebo effect than anything else. If it can get you off the cigarettes, then I say go for it regardless, if that's your goal. I think monastic self discipline can have benefits but I would suggest avoiding ones that may be unhealthy inherently.

eightywon

Apr 4, 2014