PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd50

Might Stick Around
Nov 21, 2013
Hello All,
This is my first post, and I want to start by thanking all of the senior members and regular contributors on this forum. I have been smoking a pipe for 4 years now and have followed this forum regularly since my first bowl (which was out of a brylon pipe and ended with two tobacco burn holes in my shirt from over packing). Research that led me to this forum and the tips and advice contained in it helped me discover the beauty of briar and the importance of proper packing in the smoking process. It wasn't long after when I realized what this "PAD" was all about! Thanks to this forum and its' members, I have discovered a wonderful hobby for life. Between work, school, and the recent addition of our first child, this forum and a late night bowl have become almost like a night out.
While I am fairly new to the pipe world, I have been a cigar smoker for many years, and still am (especially in the summer). Something I have noticed is that many new pipe smokers are cigar smokers attempting to convert to the pipe and are seeking a flavor similar to their favorite cigars, and I was guilty of this as well. The best advice I can give to anyone in this boat is to not give up on the pipe because you haven't found a blend that tastes like your favorite cigar. After much experimentation, I almost exclusively smoke aromatic pipe tobacco, namely 1Q and RLP...all while I enjoy very strong, full-bodied maduro wrapped cigars. While my taste in pipe tobacco is virtually the opposite from my taste in cigars, my life would feel a little less complete if I had to be without either.
Thanks again, and I look forward to contributing to this forum in any way my limited experience will allow :)

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
dd50, welcome aboard. I think you will continue to find Forums useful and informative. I do. Nice