PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

marine33

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 11, 2014
Since I am fairly new to pipe smoking, when do you think I will really start to taste the great flavors of the tobacco smoke? I've wrote some title threads like how to sip and conditioning your palate but I still don't get all the flavor. Now I can taste some flavors it's not like it was like well just plain smoke or burnt ash but I just want to hurry and get all that flavor. I have been smoking for about 3 weeks and 1-2 bowls a day and it is getting better. I would just like for you all to give me your opinion on how long it took you or steps I need to take to speed up the process. Thank you all

Marine33-----Richard

teufelhund

Lifer
Mar 5, 2013
St. Louis, MO
As far as I recall. I was always very subtle and then one day it just sort of clicked. It's more patience and waiting for the flavors to present themselves. All you need is good habits a good pipe and good tobacco.

voorhees

Lifer
May 30, 2012
Gonadistan
teufelhund is correct. I have been smoking for a couple of years now and some blends take time to get through to all the subtle flavors.

Its a long road for some, but has been a real joy to finally get results.

Be patient.

tuold

Lifer
Oct 15, 2013
Beaverton,Oregon
The taste experience can be elusive for some. Of course, the trick is to get the smoke moving around the various receptors in the mouth and nose.
I've been pipe smoking for 30 years and I've just scratched the surface of tobacco tasting. I'd have to agree with latbomber, because it wasn't until I smoked my first English blend that I realized there were flavors in tobacco other than vanilla and cherry. It was a revelation of sorts. It's also expensive! I went from spending twenty-five bucks a year on tobacco to thirty dollars a month. I'd spend more if I could afford to explore everything I wanted to explore!

northernneil

Lifer
Jun 1, 2013