PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

khartman

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 6, 2015
Hello,
I'm new to all of this and decided to go with a starter kit as seen in the link below
http://www.pipesandcigars.com/samplers/40098/pipa-pipe-kit/
I went with the Cherry tobacco. Now I'm starting to realize that the term you get what you pay for might really be true! I know that just starting I'm not getting the best pack, flavor, etc. but I feel like I'm getting the same taste if I go out back and get a pinch of charcoal ash from my grill and suck on that. I will say that the smell of the pipe is quite pleasant, but it isn't at all in the smoke I'm getting. I'm not discouraged or anything, I just wonder is this a lesson in not going the cheap/quick route. Should I just go to a shop and have someone help me out with a beginner set/different types to try and figure out what I like? I know everyone has an opinion on going cob or no cob pipe right out the gate, but possibly a 1.5 oz pouch and pipe for $5 was possibly a sign of things to come. I guess I'm just not sure if this is a keep at with what I have and just get over the initial hump of difficulties or stop before I get frustrated on what I initially bought and give up on pipes? Obviously I don't want that to happen, but don't know what route to go. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Kyle

xrundog

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 23, 2014
Ames, IA
The interior of the cob will burn a bit until the surface gets carbonized. That would account for the ashy taste. It takes a few bowls to get it broken in. Hopefully your tobacco will start to taste better soon.

buroak

Lifer
Jul 29, 2014