banner

Pipes Magazine » Pipe Tobacco Discussion

Tags:   

Sutliff Match Early Morning Pipe

(14 posts)
  1. ormazd

ormazd

Login to Send PM

I needed a filler to reach free shipping threshold for a recent order, so thought I'd take a flyer on some of this. I'm a noob, and have not tried the original Dunhill EMP.

I'm quite enjoying this one, and am turning to it frequently. How does it compare to the Dunhill?

Posted 1 month ago #
  2. mso489

mso489

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I haven't smoked either, but I think this illustrates that trying alternatives turns up some good blends. If you like it, it could be as good or better than the original.

Posted 1 month ago #
  3. spartacus

spartacus

Login to Send PM

I think it's close but not the same. I didn't care for the Match. If you enjoy the Match that's great, stick with that. I was in London last month and Dunhill still had EMP, I picked up a few more tins. Paying extra for EMP from the scalpers doesn't work for me. I don't like it enough to chase it.

My advice for what it's worth is to find currently produced blends (like EMP Match) and enjoy them. There are lots of great blends out there. More than you will be able to smoke in years to come.

Enjoy the journey.

Posted 1 month ago #
  4. mityahicks

mityahicks

Login to Send PM

I don't think you are missing anything with EMP. There are numerous other similar blends that are similar or better.

Posted 1 month ago #
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

oldgeezersmoker

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

The match EMP was blended to replicate Murray’s era Dunhill, not the last produced under the Dunhill name by STG.

Posted 1 month ago #
  6. ormazd

ormazd

Login to Send PM

The match EMP was blended to replicate Murray’s era Dunhill, not the last produced under the Dunhill name by STG.

Oh, that's good to know.
    Thanks.

Posted 1 month ago #
  7. ormazd

ormazd

Login to Send PM