Survey on Stem Preferences

(36 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by plateauguy
  • Latest reply from Love the briar
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

plateauguy

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I've always wondered, why do we choose the stem style that we do? With the exception of my Falcons, I am a semi-bent, to full bent kind of guy. They have always just "fit" my hand better.

So, I thought it might be interesting to find out whether you're a bent or straight (no pun intended) kind of person, and why.

Posted 5 years ago #
  2. andypandy

andypandy

Login to Send PM

Although I'm not that experienced, I prefer straight stems. My first pipe was an estate Willmer with a straight saddle bit. When I use bent stemmed pipes I fear that saliva will pour down into the pipe and I've got a little trouble with getting my pipe cleaners into the chameber on my bent pipes.

Anders Sandum
    Posted 5 years ago #
  3. werdna

werdna

Login to Send PM

I prefer half, or quarter bent. A full bent pipe hits my chest when I'm reading or working at the table saw. I like straights too, but prefer a little bend in the stem.

And to all a good night.
    Posted 5 years ago #
  4. pitchfork

pitchfork

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

whether you're a bent or straight (no pun intended)

I definitely swing both ways.

There are functional advantages to each. Properly made straights can have continuous, uninterrupted airflow, which is good. Meanwhile 3/4 to full bents are much better in terms of leverage on the jaw (and they can be made to function almost as well as straights or partial bents).

Also, I'm always drawn to how a pipe looks. I love Lovats, for example, but there's no such thing as a bent Lovat. I also like the look of many bent pipes, so aesthetics is probably the main reason I own both straights and bents, with no discernible preference for one or the other

Posted 5 years ago #
  5. cortezattic

Cortez

A part of the problem since he ...

Login to Send PM