PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

piedpiper21

Lurker
Feb 25, 2015
I'm new to pipe smoking (about a month with just a simple corncob) and I've only smoked about 4 different kinds of tobacco. All have been English blends and I really enjoy them. But I really want a Virginia Flake that I like. I tried a bowl of full Virginia flake that a buddy of mine enjoys but found it to be far too harsh for my liking. So does anyone have any suggestions for a good starter Virginia blend?

oldreddog

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 4, 2014
Hello piedpiper. I would suggest trying Orlik Golden Sliced or PS Luxry Navy Flake which are on the lighter side. I would also suggest that you may have found FVF harsh because you smoked it to quickly, Virginias really need to be smoked slowly to avoid becoming hot and harsh.
I hope that is of some help to you and good luck trying different blends.

ravenwolf

Can't Leave
Mar 18, 2014
Orlick Golden Sliced and Peter Stokkebye luxury offerings (Navy, Twist, Bullseye) would all be good choices. The Newminster No. 400 Superior Navy Flake is also quite good in my opinion.
The biggest thing with smoking any virginia tobacco is to slowww dowwwn. You almost want to be on the razor's edge of the bowl going OUT, even. The slower you smoke, the cooler the burn, and the more flavor you will receive with less tongue bite/irritation. It takes some practice and toying around with this, since each blend is different, and each pipe smoker is a bit different.
One thing I would advise is to pick a virginia tobacco and then smoke nothing but that tobacco for at least two weeks. For example, if you had a tin of Orlick Golden Sliced: that is literally the only stuff going into your pipe for 2 whole weeks when you're in the mood for a pipe. As you smoke it more often, you will begin to pick up more of the flavor and the details of the flavor. Sounds crazy, but it's been my experience that this works very well.

oklansas

Can't Leave