PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

hawk60ce

Lifer
Jun 11, 2012
Anyone do it old school? Use a straight razor or even a double edge razor? Use a brush and bowl to mix your lather in? any others out there? Im just getting into the hobby but love it. will never look back!

mp31guitar

Lifer
Jun 28, 2011
I use a double edge and a brush with a bowl of soap. I bought the razor on ebay about four years ago and I love it. The razors are cheap too. I get ten for about $1.50

piperl12

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 7, 2012
Hey Hawk do you shave your head with your straight razor? I have been thinking about going that route but I shave my head and don't want to have to use one razor for my face and another for my head. I heard that the old razors will help you get the angle right and make the transition easier. Sure been thinking about it sounds like you are futher along the learning curve.

mp31guitar

Lifer
Jun 28, 2011
I would love to shave with a staight razor but I suffer from shaking. I don't know why I shake. Sometimes the guys at work will ask me why my hands are shaking. I think it's genetic. So, I'd probably slit my throat.

msandoval858

Jun 11, 2012
Austin, TX
Wet shaving is actually one of my other acquisition disorders.
I have a huge collection of brushes, razors, etc. I shave with a straight almost every day. The double edge is great when I need something quicker.

Jul 15, 2011
Just switched to the DE razor a few months ago and I love it. I dont use a bowl to make my lather; rather, i dabble some cream on my brush and lather directly to my face. I use Astra SP blades almost exclusively and I love the shave they give me. Much closer and a lot less irritation than my old cartridge blades.

wayneteipen

Can't Leave
May 7, 2012