Storing tobacco what is best, how about ammo cans?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

24 Fresh Rossi Pipes
36 Fresh Nørding Pipes
36 Fresh Tsuge Pipes
48 Fresh Savinelli Pipes
120 Fresh Peterson Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Status
Not open for further replies.

windriver33

Lurker
Jun 27, 2017
Greetings from Helmand, Afghanistan.
I'm relatively new to pipe smoking. Been dabbing in it since 2012 but now serious about it buying pipes, various tobacco's, etc. With regards to storing tobacco, I've jumped on various sites and forums and see that glass jars seem to be the best storage medium for pipe tobacco. I saw an article on this site from 2009 but was not able to make comments, though I'm a member now. My question is this. I am in Helmand, Afghanistan for a year working with the Marines here. It is very dry, and hot, over 100 degrees for almost two months now and we are still two months away to the hottest month. It has been 120+ several days in a row. Our rooms stay between 73-78 degrees due to the outside heat. Glass jars are not practical here even if I could have the wife send them to me. Ammo cans are in abundance, they are steel, have a rubber seal and provide a cool dark place in my room under the bed. I and and another new pipe smoker have looked and looked online and cannot find any comments as to whether using ammo cans for storing your tobacco is good at all or at least under these circumstances? I was using thick plastic containers to put my tobacco in like the thick walled protein powder containers that are also in abundance on a military base. In that case, I kept the tobacco in their original ziploc baggies and then in the plastic protein powder container with a lid. I've since switched to ammo cans and separated the Bourbon/Whiskey tobacco's from the rest of them. These cans have been cleaned out and re purposed for tobacco storage. So, given our environment, are ammo cans a good means for storing tobacco? No glass in these parts t