PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kalc

Might Stick Around
Sep 7, 2012
Hi All,

I am pretty new to pipe smoking and hav just started stocking tobacco. As i am in India, its pretty difficult to get glass jars of 4 - 8 oz capacity - i am trying though.

But of course, getting food grade plastic jars of different sizes is easy - and as of now i have started jarring my tobby in plastic jars. Quite a bit of what i am buying are bulk tobby , so i need to jar them. Also many of the tins dont seem to be airtight.

So, i wanted to know, how bad is that, storing i plastic jars - i hav read that it allows oxygen to enter, but keeps moisture in. So will it be really bad for my tobacco - in the short to medium term like 3-6 months? In the longer term like one or more years? If it will smoke well, but just be different compared to anaerobically fermented tobby, i guess thats not so bad(of course, its not the best option) - but if it will turn bad/unsmokable or something like that, i need to start looking out seriously for glass jars! Also, i am a bit worried abt glass jars breaking :) As i am quickly accumulating many blends (35 on the way) and am sitting with around 30+ tins, many open, i need to know whether i will end up with unusable stock :)

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
I stored a blend of something I didn't care for in a cheap plastic tupperware like tub that had a good seal for over 12 years and the tobacco was as moist as the day I put it in. Now as to the flavor I cannot say because I lost my taste for english blends but I cannot imagine it being bad, because it has retained all it's original moisture. I store my bulks in high quality plastic bail top jars that have silicone gaskets and have never had an issue. People like glass but I prefer that plastic, they are bigger and the seals are silicone, I used to use the glass ones but the gaskets deteriorate too quickly.

shawn622

Lifer