PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stanlaurel

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 31, 2015
I am still very new to the pipe. I have not even been at this for 6 months yet. As I study the wealth of information available to me about tobacco, it becomes obvious to me that building a stock of tobacco is an important thing to do. Although there are a number of reasons to do this, I have recently realized that one of them is that a lot of the blends that I read about and want to try and enjoy need to be aged. For this reason, I cannot wait and stock my cellar until I know what I like if I don't know what I like yet and I have not even tasted an aged sample yet anyway. At this point in my journey, I am really having a lot of fun reading all the reviews and comments and finding out what everyone likes and dislikes. I especially like to see people declare their top 5 blends or their desert island blend(s).
For these reasons I have started building a cellar. I have 14lbs now. I still consider myself incapable deciding what blends I will eventually call my favorites. I am not experienced enough to call any tobacco good or bad. But I have stocked up on blends that not only interest me but are highly regarded by many here on these forums. If some of these turn out to be not to my liking someday, I will have aged tins to trade for some that are. When I also consider that tobacco may become harder to obtain in the future, it is like having money in the bank (or in my mattress). I know that the blends I have stocked are loved by many and therefore have re-sale value. I will have an aged cellar waiting for me when I am ready.

tarak

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
South Dakota
14 pounds is a heck of a start for a "newbie"! I've been smoking pipe more seriously now for 2 years, and have about 9 pounds.

stanlaurel

Jan 31, 2015
@tarak
I just last week bought 2lbs of Dunhill in the P&C sale and then 1lb of Pease blends and 1.5lbs of Rattrays in the other P&C sale.