PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

texmexpipe

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 20, 2014
It really is trial and error. I have some pipes that will take 2-3 LNF (Luxury Navy Flake) and others that will take close to 4. For Irish Flake and University flake some only take 1. Have fun with it and enjoy! I love Flakes!

May 4, 2015
Gosh - trial and error is my best advice.
Less is more with flakes, in my experience, though. They burn a long time, so you don't need "as much".
As far as folding and stuffing - good luck. I have never cracked the code. Rubbed out and packed for me always.

stickframer

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 11, 2015
Awesome! Flakes are good. But they require trial and error, indeed. Some flakes are thin, others are thicker, or moisture levels are different etc.
When I started doing fold and stuff I had some hot, damp smokes that's for sure.
I'm no pro, but 2 things I found are: If you have to mash the flake in and it's a super tight fit, that's bad and you might as well take the baccy out and repack with less. And the second thing is if you think the flake has dried enough, give it another 20-30 minutes. YMMV of course lol.
Like I said, it seemed hopeless at first, but those first few smokes where I 'got' fold n stuff were outta this world.

andrew

Lifer
Feb 13, 2013
Also try the cube cutting method, it's a pretty easy way to start with flakes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zpQ9EqPuB2Y

Fold and stuff might get you frustrated. Even rubbing out a flake is fine, I find you just get more flavor with a flake then pre cut, just like people say they get more flavor from a plug then the same plug that flakes are cut from.

panamacharlie

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 13, 2016
I always ford and stuff. Less is more. I have one pipe that like just a single PS LNF, some will hold three, but I rarely load more than two, as they last so damn long!