PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigboi

Lifer
Nov 12, 2012
I am still a pipe novice compared to others here, but a while back when I was venturing into the wonderful world of Virginia blends and asking about flakes one of the great forum members here sent me some samples of different blends to try out. For that I am very thankful. I have found some of my favorite tobacco's from that. FMOTT, OGS, PS LBF. I also received a small sample of Haddo's Delight. The first time I tried it it knocked me down with a big vitamin N hit. I stayed away from it a good 4 months. I just recently came back to it and man I am enjoying it now. It is a wonderful concoction of figs, raisins, spicy, and a bit of brandy (at least to my taste buds). My question is what would be something similar that may to this blend? Or does this blend just kind of stand out on its own?

jgriff

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013
I haven't heard of too much exactly like it but I've heard that C&D Exhausted Rooster is somewhat similar. I haven't broken into my tin of it yet so I can't comment from personal experience. However, I don't hear anything about it having less Vitamin N though.

chopsie

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 3, 2012
While its not that similar you might want to try Peterson Irish Oak, its pretty strong in nicotine though.

Jul 15, 2011
IIRC, GL Pease Cumberland has roughly the same ingredients as Haddos, but Im sure they probably in different proportions. I could be wrong on this, so if someone has any other experience with this blend please let me know. I personally have never smoked anything that has that same sort of fig laden, almost red wine type flavor. Hopefully you find something that will fit the bill.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida