PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

pipeude28

Might Stick Around
Jun 14, 2016
Hi. I'm new to pipe smoking and I'm noticing a lot of dottle when I'm done smoking. What is the cause of this?? Thanks

texmexpipe

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 20, 2014
It can be caused by severa things.

1. wet blends, if you are smoking a wet blend, (aromatics tend to be wetter) make sure you are allowing some time to dry before packing your pipe.

2. Tight packing, try packing your pipe looser.

3. Cadence, play around with how fast or slow you puff. This can make a big difference.

4. Relights are ok! For some reason some don't like to relight, or become annoyed when they need to do so. Don't worry about it and relight as often as possible. If you follow the other three though and have them right, it's likely that you won't need too many relights.

sthbkr77

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 17, 2015
MD
Try allowing your tobacco to dry a bit more before loading your pipe. The extra moisture in the leaf could be accumulating.
I do want to mention, there seems to be a popular idea that a bowl MUST be smoked all the way to the bottom every time. I don't follow this. I stop when it's no longer tasty and enjoyable. Sure a little leaf gets tossed but it's the tarry charred remnants.

May 4, 2015
I tend to dump quite a bit of tobacco. As soon as the flavor isn't what I want it to be or the tobacco starts giving me fits and smoking poorly, it's done.
Easier to pack a new bowl than ruin an otherwise good smoke trying to burn every last crumb.

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015