PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

fmakalidude

Lurker
Mar 7, 2018
Hello. My name is Elijah Hutchinson and I am a beginner pipe smoker. I enjoy smoking my pipe as I find it meditative and relaxing but I have a couple of concerns regarding technique. I enjoy the aroma and process of smoking a pipe rather than the taste and I wonder if it is frowned upon to puff on a pipe by breathing outwards through it to keep it burning rather than drawing the smoke into your mouth. It seems to be easy enough and to be totally honest, I think that it looks very classic and cool. Is it acceptable to smoke a pipe by puffing out through the pipe and enjoying the aroma rather than drawing the smoke into your mouth? I apologize in advance if this is a stupid question. (for reference, I'm smoking a briar pipe with an American herbal and aromatic blend.)

Well, no one can tell a cowboy how to ride his horse, but when you see one riding side saddle backwards down a potholed trail, he'd better prepare for some staring and chuckles... and, you'd better prepare for burn holes in your shirt from blowing hot ash all over yourself. Ha ha.
You don't like the flavor? Maybe try new blends. It takes new pipe smokers a while to find their genre.
You might also just tie some whole leaf into a smudge stick or burn it on a charcoal block that huka smokers use while just walking around with an empty pipe... just a suggestion. :puffy:
But, give whatever a try, and report back. Maybe make a video, I'd watch it, ha ha.
I hope these help. There aint no rules to pipes, but there are some curious pipers in the mix, ha ha.
Welcome to the forum. Try new things, and take our comments and suggestions with a grain of salt, as we are known as a chuckling bunch. But, we're mostly harmless.

May 4, 2015
That's like cooking a pound of delicious bacon to make your house smell like heaven and then dumping the meat in the trash can.