PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stevuke79

Might Stick Around
Sep 21, 2016
Im pretty new to smoking a pipe. Ive smoked 5 or 6 cigars in my life and never smoked cigarettes.
I dont know if it matters that the tobacco was dryer than usual. It probably wasn't too dry bc the bowl lasted almost 1.5hrs... but i puff light and slow.
I also accidentally inhaled and coughed 2 or 3 times (i feel like thats not too much). Its also my first time smoking 4 bowls in 1 week and they were all over the last 4 days (1 bowl/day)
I got very dizzy and a little nautious.
Is that fairly normal?is it bc im not used to it?

hugodrax

Can't Leave
Jan 24, 2013
Simply the nicotine, sir. The spins and queasiness are normal when you over indulge. Slow your cadence down, don't worry about relights and don't be afraid to leave it if it's too strong. At this point, I smoke every bit as much for the nicotine as for the flavor, but there was a time when I could and did get the spins. No shame.

dottiewarden

Lifer
Mar 25, 2014
Toronto
Nicotine tolerance differs among people. Many get used to it over time, but this is not so in my case. Like you, I have never been a cigarette smoker and I've had about as many cigars; however after three years of pipe smoking I still have a low tolerance for nicotine. In fact I've thrown up several times and the feeling is almost enough to give up the pipe altogether.
I've learned to put the pipe down if I feel a buzz coming on.

Reactions: aspiring_sage
Luckily, with pipes, you don't have to inhale.