Show of Hands: How Many Here Work in Front of a Computer?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

numbersix

Lifer
Jul 27, 2012
Just curious.
I have been using computers professionally for over 30 years. Some parts of my career were spent traveling and teaching people, other times spent sitting in front of a computer all day (doing that for about 20 years).
And even though I exercise when I can, it's taking it's toll, physically speaking. They say people who sit for extended periods have a reduced life span and I am beginning to believe it.
But it does allow me to check the forums during the day. :puffy:

voorhees

Lifer
May 30, 2012
Gonadistan
I spend about 2/3rds my day in front of a computer, I run a college campus print center and the post office. I do have the freedom to move around as needed. I used to be chained to a desk in my former job.
-Jason

numbersix

Lifer
Jul 27, 2012
I spend about 2/3rds my day in front of a computer
That's ideal. You need a reason to move around. Unfortunately, everything I do during the day requires a computer.

robusthermit

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 9, 2012
I have been in front of a computer for 8 hours or more every week day for 12 years. I work in the computer aided drafting department of an engineering firm. I agree with you, sitting all day is detrimental to your health. Your eyes, hands, wrists, neck and lower back get the most wear and tear but I think being nearly motionless all day is bad for your metabolism and mental health. I am very active during my time off and exercise often but sometimes I feel like I am just pushing mud uphill. I never seem to have the energy and good health I had before getting a desk job.

cynyr

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 12, 2012
Tennessee