PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

randelli

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 21, 2015
As most of you already I am new to this whole pipe world - about 40 days now. I have been buying small amounts of blends from the counter jars and keeping them in the bags I brought them home in. I typically roll the bags tight to keep the air out; but now I am wondering if I am completely wrong?
I have a trend of moisture issues; could this be tied to the bag storage? Should I put them in jars to help them dry out?

prairiedruid

Lifer
Jun 30, 2015
Jars with good lids are a great way to store tobacco. Bags tend to be at least semi-permeable which allows air to get in and out drying out your tobacco. Jars will not dry out tobacco, they actually hold the tobacco at the humidity it was when sealed in the jar. Small canning jars are what I use and you can get them at Walmart, big box store or even hardware stores.

randelli

Nov 21, 2015
It appears that some of my tobacco are more wet than when I brought them home. Not Levi Garrett wet but still pretty damp. Maybe by rolling the bags tight I am expressing moisture to the outside and making it feel more wet than it is.

phil67

Lifer
Dec 14, 2013
Forget the bags. They are fine for shipping but other than that they are useless for holding moisture as they are air permeable. Kerr or Bell jars ONLY.

smeigs

Lifer
Jun 26, 2012
I use jars. Unless I plan on smoking a blend in a week or so I always store my tobacco in mason jars. This way it stays fresher, and doesn't force me to hurry up and smoke a blend before it dries out. If you plan on finishing your blend fairly quickly, the bag will work. But I can't even tell you how many times I have purchased blends from my local B&M and left them in the bag and totally forgot about them because I had so many different blends open. You can re hydrate if needed, but its never the same in my opinion. Good luck

jpmcwjr