PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 10, 2015
Hello so I'm completely new to the pipe world. I do enjoy collecting custom and unique glass pieces. I recently discovered what a meerschaum pipe was and some features I've read about. I am hoping you can shed some light on a particular piece I'm thinking of buying. As soon as I figure out how to upload the pics I will. lol. The pipe does bear the signature or Mark of "Kazim". And I haven't found any info online for the name. The price is 100$ any tips on fakes vs block or pressed. What should I look for if I'm wanting a quality meerschaum?

jeepnewbie

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 12, 2013
Byron
www.facebook.com
Welcome to the forums, great to have you. Where are you looking at the meer at?
Gigger mentioned some great sources, ebay be careful there, your local B&M I think you will be ok. Pressed meershaum from what I read is costly compared to using blocks, not sure how true that is.
If it is a reputable seller online, then you should be good. If you are buying from ebay look at how long they been selling, and their reviews. Your local B&M would be a great place to buy from, it may cost a bit more but you will get to hold what you are looking at before you buy.
I bought a meerschaum recently only to notice a odd looking spot on the bottom that could have been a crack. I returned it and looked the next one over before leaving the store. Store doesn't have really bright lights, so I got out only to notice a hairline fracture on the top of the bowl. I ended up taking it back and getting the very first one I looked at before deciding on the others. That doesn't happen often, I never noticed that many defects on a meer I was looking at.
Good luck and hope you get what you are looking for.

andrew

Lifer
Feb 13, 2013