PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rfernand

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 2, 2015
I'm curious to see if anybody learned to pack, light, and smoke a pipe by themselves. It seems with the convenience of the Internet there should be quite a few autodidacts out there. Care to share your story and sources?

mortonbriar

Lifer
Oct 25, 2013
New Zealand
I got a one page print out with my first tobacco purchase from the tobacconist, it explained the three step filling method and some basics on lighting and tamping, trial and error from there for the most part...

rfernand

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 2, 2015
What made you buy pipe tobacco in the first place (if you don't mind sharing)?

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK
No internet when I started. More or less self-taught. A couple of us at the university purchased pipes and tobacco at the local Woolworth store in Fairbanks. We trial and errored it. When I was asked to move off campus, seems hockey players were a problem and a distraction, I returned to Anchorage and the proprietor of the local tobacco shop smoothed out my technique.

mortonbriar

Lifer
Oct 25, 2013
New Zealand
What made me start was the delicious smell wafting down from the upstairs balcony of my apartment at the time!

I did not start prior to the internet, I just did not click at the time that the internet may be a useful resource for such an age old hobby...I am a bit slow on the technology front.
Isaac

smokinfireman

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 17, 2015
My Grandpa smoked a pipe back in the day, but quit. So I had no one to teach me other than you guys before I joined the forums.

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida
I just did not click at the time that the internet may be a useful resource for such an age old hobby..