PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

blindmansleeps

Might Stick Around
Jan 23, 2014
I'm still pretty new to pipe smoking, but I noticed pretty early on that my taste gravitated towards English and Lat blends. However, I started smoking a pipe during the winter. The past few days, we've had a taste of Spring warmth here in TN. Suddenly, I noticed myself craving aromatics. Overall, the flavor of these aromatics have made much more of an impression on me during the warmer weather than the winter weather. I suspect the reason is similar to the reason we crave heavy stews and such in the winter, and lighter meals in the summer.
Does anyone else find that their tastes change with the seasons?

petes03

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
The Hills of Tennessee
My tastes seem to change from day to day, week to week, month to month and so forth. I alternate between a full range of tobaccos, Va's, Va/Burs, Va/Pers, Burleys, English/Balkans, Hybrids, and Aromatics. Here lately I've been going back and forth between Vas, Va/Pers and Lats, next week/month who knows! For me it's not really a seasonal thing, just whatever I happen to be in the mood for at the time.

jazz

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 17, 2014
UK
I noticed last summer I started smoking more Va/Per during the summer than my usual Latakia.
Here in Wales today it feels surprisingly warm and is a bright day. Feels like early spring and Elizabethan Mixture was stuffed in the pipe for my walk to the bank this morn. I suspect I will be smoking this all day today.
A short answer to your question is yes. Indeed I do.
James

jgriff

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013
Yep. My latakia blends go to the back of the shelf in the spring & summer but come back out in Fall/Winter. Mild virginias which seem boring in freezing weather spring to life when the thermostat gets to 60+.

escioe

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 31, 2013