PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

snarfindorf

Lurker
Jun 23, 2014
Hi!
So, I'm brand new to pipe smoking. I smoked a few times with my cheap as hell 'Falcon Coolway' pipe that I used to get me into the hobby and I'm sold! I love sitting out and smoking!
Anyway, I'm having a real scare. I bought a brand new Churchwarden and the thing's a beauty. The main problem is the term I hear quite often called 'ghosting'. How can I detect which blend with ghost my beautiful Churchwarden?
Another question I had which I have trouble finding a condensed answer to is 'what's the difference between English/Latkia blends and Aromatics?'. As I understand it, you should have a pipe purely for E/L and one purely for Aromatic. Is this true?
Thanks for any help that you can give me. Being a newbie, all of this is quite intimidating :puffpipe:

grouchydog

Can't Leave
Oct 16, 2013
Hey, welcome to the forums!
I don't have many pipes, they're dedicated to broad blend genres - 2 to English, one to aros, etc. For a newb (i.e. me) I think that's probably sufficient. Based on my pipes, both English and aromatics will "ghost" a pipe, so I'd probably dedicate one to each category, and smoke and enjoy both.
What 'baccy's are you smoking and liking?

snarfindorf

Lurker
Jun 23, 2014
Hi,
I have
Alsbo Vanilla Pipe Tobacco
Century Black Cavendish American
Mac Baren Cube Loose Pipe Tobacco
I have some
Gawith and Hoggarths Kendal Dark Aroma
Peter Stokkebye Balkan Mixture Loose
Kentucky California Dream Pipe Tobacco
Peter Stokkebye Bulwark Flake Loose

Currently being delivered and should arrive by tomorrow.
The main problem is discerning which one is aromatic or not. Is there any way to tell?

daimyo

Lifer
May 15, 2014