PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

seakayak

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 21, 2010
I have been smoking pipes for more than 40 years so this is a bit embarrassing. There are 31 wonderful pipes in my collection including briars, meers and a Ropp cherrywood. When I recently came across a nice looking and reasonably priced piece with a rosewood bowl it drew my interest. I purchased it new and fired it up the same day. Within 20 minutes, I felt nauseous and a truly disgusting aftertaste remained with me until the following morning. Some subsequent research told me that rosewood emits a poisonous gas when heated (like in a pipe). How is it that people continue to use this stuff in pipe making? Just be warned, my friends. Stick with the old standards and don't be drawn in by the low prices of these instruments of death.

flyguy

Lifer
Nov 20, 2012
Yes, good to know. I have heard certain hardwoods are toxic but I didn't know rosewood was one of them.

wnghanglow

Mar 25, 2012
Did the site you bought it on say anywhere that this pipe was for display only? I don't see how it would be legal to sell known poisonous consumables to people, even the wicked tobacco industry has standards it keeps.

seakayak

Sep 21, 2010
It was a Lucienne, dhizzy. Yet another reason to stick with what you know and trust.

seakayak

Sep 21, 2010
It was on eBay. It's description specifically spoke of the "cool smoke." They even included pipe cleaners and filters. I should have known better.

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012
I know that there are several different kinds of wood called "rosewood." Surely the poisonous variety isn't the one used for pipes??? seakayak, did the pipe have a funky stain inside the bowl, I wonder? Cup O Joes sells rosewood pipes -- http://www.cupojoes.com/cgi-bin/dept?dpt=W&srch=DW&tier2=444 -- which doesn't conclusively prove they're safe to smoke, but they are a very reputable pipe dealer.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013