PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tarak

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
South Dakota
Hey all. Just received an estate Mastro de Paja from one of our sponsor sites. I'm wondering if I need to return it (haven't smoked it).
Looking it over, everything seemed fine, except for the slightest "notch" or groove on the top of the stem, just before the button. I figured it was a tooth mark. But, when I ran a pipe cleaner into the pipe, that groove is actually a thin spot on the acrylic...so thin that the pipe clear is visible through the stem for about 1/4 of an inch.
Is this a problem? Should I return it? I'm new to saddle stems and nice pipes so I need some input.
null_zpsa8c3e9f5.jpg

Is this a problem?

Aug 1, 2012
If it bugs/worries you, return it. I have kept some pipes that bother me and they get no space in the rotation. I kept one with "problems" that became my favorite smoker though, so there you go. If you're a clencher, I would definitely return it.

allan

Lifer
Dec 5, 2012
Bronx, NY
Tarak
Are you saying that you can 'see' the pipe cleaner, as in the stem is so thin that the pipe cleaner is visible?
Unless the deal is so good that it is worth getting a new stem, I'd say return it.
My 2 cents

tarak

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
South Dakota
Okay. Full disclosure maybe will help with opinions. Mastro de Paja 1B/1 Sun. Sandblasted Billiard. Really fine condition save that issue. $115 is what I paid.
null_zps1af924e5.jpg

cavendish36

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 26, 2013