PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

drsquat

Lurker
May 11, 2014
First of all I apologise for bringing up this old chestnut as I'm sure it's been addressed many times before. That having been said I would like some advice about relights and smoking cadence. I've been having a devil of a time trying to keep my pipes lit to the point where I'm having to relight every couple of minutes or so. I'm a relative noob (12 months or so) but hoped to have somewhat mastered this problem by now. I know some say just enjoy the smoking experience and don't worry about the relights but seriously - every couple of minutes???? So I pack light, always do a thorough charring light and try to smoke slow with shallow sips. Also I have experimented with drying out my tobacco and varied pipes (billiards, bents/small, large). Am I packing too light? Would using matches instead of a zippo help? What is a proper cadence ie sip every 15 seconds or so?

PS this site is the best!

latbomber

Part of the Furniture Now
May 10, 2013
If the tobacco has been dried out enough then I guess it is your packing or cadence. Taking slow shallow sips is good for smoking lighter blends like VA's or aros, but when I'm smoking an english I puff away with billows of smoke and don't really think about it. As long as the bowl doesn't get too hot or the flavour gets ruined then you'll be fine.
As far as lighting, I prefer matches but other people here use zippos/other lighters with good results.
For packing, if it is too lightly packed, not enough of the tobacco will be contacting to really transfer the embers down. I pack ribbon cut blends fairly tight. If I take the first 5-10 puffs and the tamper collapses the ash halfway down the bowl, then the packing was too light. Just remember that as long as you get a good unlit draw through the pipe, then you aren't packing too tight.

yorkshirepipe

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 26, 2012