PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

IslandCobFog

Lurker
Feb 28, 2014
Friday Harbor, WA
So I am about 1 month into my pipe smoking adventure and I am really enjoying it. I have tried 2 tins 2 bulks and 2 otc's. None are exceptional but aa few are starting to grow on me. I feel like my taste buds are starting to aquire a taste for tobacco and I am starting to taste my pipe up to 8 hours since I last smoked and that makes me want to smoke it again. One thing I have been coming across that I have a question on. It seems like everytime I have to relight. The tobacco tastes like crap. I get an ashy nasty bitter taste for about a minute after every relight. After a few puffs it goes away and I get no flavor then the flavor slowly starts coming back. Is this normal?

dottiewarden

Lifer
Mar 25, 2014
Toronto
I can’t say whether it’s normal or not as I’m rather new to this myself. The way you describe your experience, it seems to me that if it were that common fewer still of us would be smoking pipes so fervently. What I can say is that pipe smoking isn’t as simple as it seems. I’ve been smoking my pipes for about 6 months now and though it is becoming a more natural activity for me, I’m sure I have a long and enjoyable road ahead to get to the point of a seasoned piper.
I suggest you not worry about it for the time being and let your smoking skills evolve with experience.
Dot

hawke

Lifer
Feb 1, 2014
Augusta, Ga
Im new to pipe smoking too, however before a relight I like to touch the white ash with a poker and dump it. This gets me down to the unsmoked part and makes it easier to light. I sometimes dont care for the taste of the bottom of a bowl so I often dump it as well.