PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mephistopheles

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 14, 2014
Gentlemen,
Background:

I am relatively new to pipe smoking but have done an immense amount of research on the subject and have been experimenting with very positive results. Friends are very surprised that I've recently taken up the hobby as they've said I look very practiced and natural in my methods (keep up on tamping, limited relights, breath smoking method, etc.) - so I must be doing something right.
I own several pipes and aromatic tobaccos at the moment but have only experimented with two of each. I am partial to Missouri Meerschaum pipes (cheap I know) simply because I have a deep seated fear of breaking the pipe stem on a higher end pipe and having to toss it because replacement stems seem to be extremely difficult to find (especially for estate pipes). The MM stems are cheap and easily ordered from a variety of places so those are what I smoke. I use a hardwood Diplomat and an Ozark Mountain Mini. My pipes are smoked only a couple times a week with only one bowl a sitting so they are definitely being rested.
Problem:

I find it very frustrating that I can't replicate that first bowl of an unsmoked pipe. I notice that every bowl after the first has greatly diminished flavor. With the Sutliff Frosty Mint it was like a rush of delicious cold air (I'm a huge mint fan) and the taste of maybe a peppermint patty or Altoids. With the Russ Monthly Snowdrift the taste was very much like delicious hot cocoa. I've tried cleaning my pipes (whisky, pipe cleaners, reaming, etc.) and have experimented with clearing my palate (ice water + crackers, piece of chocolate, lemon water, garlic stuffed olives, etc.) but I just can't seem to get back the great flavors of that first unsmoked bowl in each pipe. Any suggestions?
Ponderings/Potential solutions?