PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

apatim

Can't Leave
Feb 17, 2014
Jacksonville, FL
There seems to be so much to learn about this great hobby. I have been reading as much as I can find on the internet and recently purchased the following books which I think are outstanding for newbies:
The Ultimate Pipe Book by Richard Carlton Hacker

The Perfect Smoke by Fred Hanna
I learned a lot from each and really enjoyed them.
What other books would you recommend?

flmason

Lifer
Oct 8, 2012
Rare Smoke also by Hacker is good.
Site sponsor Smokers Haven has some books on their website
www.smokershaven.com
I hope this helps you.

northernneil

Lifer
Jun 1, 2013
Confessions of a Pipeman by Gary B Schrier. I found it to be a very entertaining read, and different from other pipe literature that I have read.

chiefbroom

Lurker
Mar 21, 2014
I'm new to this too. Was lucky to land a big pile of books, magazines, & etc., on eBay. So far, my favorite reads are (after The Pipe Smokers Ephemris)) are Georges Herment's The Pipe and Gary Schrier's Confessions of a Pipeman. I have Hacker's books, but his style sometimes gets in the way for me.

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012
Carl Ehwa's "Book of Pipes & Tobaccos" is absolutely essential. I also highly recommend "Sublime Tobacco" by Compton Mackenzie, "The Pleasures of Pipe Smoking" by Carl Weber, Sherman's "All About Tobacco," "The Gentle Art of Pipe Smoking" (I forget the author), and, if you're interested in the topic, "The Christmas Pipe" by R.C. Hacker.
Of course, I believe J. M. Barrie's "My Lady Nicotine" belongs in the library of every pipe smoking reader.
Bob

apatim

Can't Leave
Feb 17, 2014
Jacksonville, FL
Looks like my library will be expanding in the near future!
Prices on some of these are really high... Might need to check the public library to see if they carry any of them.

Jan 8, 2013