Recommendation's like dark star and Blackwoods flake please.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars
12 Fresh Moonshine Pipes
2 Fresh Former Pipes
108 Fresh Brulor Pipes
12 Fresh Ser Jacopo Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tarheel1

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 16, 2014
I have been smoking since 98 but from 2005 to now I have been primarily an English smoker. Last year I discovered Va/per blends and this yeah nicer aged pressed Va flakes. I have smoked va's off an on over the years but had problems with a chemical reaction so didn't smoke them often. Lately I have been enjoying Blackwoods flake and Dark Star. As long as I have an acidic drink with sugar and a side of water the reaction has been minimal.
I am now looking for blends along the lines of these two. I loved the aged dark flakes. They are naturally sweet and tasty without the sickly sweet addition of flavoring found in most aros. So lets talk about this and please suggest away.

andrew

Lifer
Feb 13, 2013
Try St.James woods, it's supposed to be blackwoods flake with perique added, it's one of my favorites. Also Admirals flake in bulk is supposed to be quite similar to dark star.

McClelland is about the only company that makes a single leaf stoved or aged Virginia (that I know of). Try the Matured #22 #25 and #27 in their matured line. They have a bulk stoved Virginia, but I bought a pound of it, and it came so dried and brittle that half was dust by the time I got it into jars, not good.

If another company has something similar, I would love to know. I'd give it a try in a heartbeat. But so far, I think that McClelland has become the master of Virginias, IMO.

bigpond

Lifer
Oct 14, 2014
Heavily stoved VA's are pretty easy on the tongue.
Here are a couple of others in the genre:
Red and Black, FVF, Wessex Dark Flake, Butera's Dark Stoved, Dark Fragrant, Black Viriginia,