PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

igloo

Lifer
Jan 17, 2010
woodlands tx
Ok guys what Rattrays blends do you prefer . I like 3Noggins a full English blend , The tin aroma reminds me of Frog Morton but the taste is different sometimes while smoking I swear there is Vanilla in there .The blend is said to be made up from Eastern tobaccos and Red Virginias . There is just enough Orientals in the blend to keep the palate enticed and not be overpowering . It ages well if you can keep your mitts out of it , sadly I am not very good at this .

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
My "local" B&M The Briary has about 30 different blends they carry in bulk. For purely economic reasons I buy, almost exclusively, bulk tobaccos from them. The variety of bulks almost eliminates the need to buy tins. I do reqularly purchase 2 & 4 oz. quantities of tobaccos that catch my eye. I'll go to buy my pound and usually end up with a pound and half, some times a couple of Partagas Humitubes as well.

I smoke the 1Q Wilshire as my utilitarian tobacco. I have to say that it is very good and is quite pleasant. Here is Skip's description from The Briary web site.

" Our best selling blend. It is a mild sweet aromatic tobacco that consists of Golden Cavendish with some fire-cured in it. Has a flavorful aroma."
In short I don't know what Rattrays is.

tsgourley

Lurker
Aug 30, 2010
Rattray's Red Raparee is my favorite Rattray blend: http://www.tobaccoreviews.com/blend_detail.cfm?ALPHA=R&TID=961

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
Here is a review that I wrote a couple of months ago on another site.

Rattray's HAL O' THE WYND, is the only of their blends that I have tried.

If it is any indication of the quality of their other blends; they are truly gifted.
Good morning Guys,