PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kashmir

Lifer
May 17, 2011
Northern New Jersey
Well, here is something you don't see everyday.
The two rarest Comoy pipes ever auctioned on the Internet:
1. Comoy's Specimen Straight Grain Extraordinaire billiard #124.
2. Comoy's Blue Riband Extraordinaire stamped Straight Grain #309 Canadian.
2 RAREST COMOY PIPES EVER AUCTIONED ON THE INTERNET
URL: http://www.ebay.com/itm/2-RAREST-COMOY-PIPES-EVER-AUCTIONED-INTERNET-/251396281629

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012
I'm no expert in Comoy pipes, but those are rare indeed. And spectacular to look at. Wow.

kashmir

Lifer
May 17, 2011
Northern New Jersey
What he states is correct: "The highest grade Comoy pipe appearing just before WWII was the Specimen Straight Grain, with the company stating only one bowl in 10,000 possessing the attributes to attain this lofty grade. The brochures touted the Specimen as the “rarest and finest of all Comoy pipes:. Far rarer than the popular Blue Riband of which 3 or 4 appeared for each 1,000 bowls". “Extraordinaire” was a designation given to any pipe of unusual grain or size. Extraordinaire’s can be found with no other designations, or rarely in combination with other grades such as “London Pride”, “Blue Ribands” etc. "
Therefore, to find a Blue Riband stamped Extraordinaire is, well, extraordinary. To have the additional stamp "straight Grain" is icing on the icing, do to speak.
The second pipe, the Specimen Straight Grain is rare enough as it is, one in ten thousand bowls. But to have it stamped Extraordinaire, is, well, again, extraordinary.
I'm lucky to have a Comoy's Blue Riband #409 stamped "Straight Grain", but it doesn't also carry the designation Extraordinaire. But, in my book, it doesn't make it any less extraordinary. Lol.
Anyone got two grand to spend tonight?
I don't think the sale will last past tomorrow, although I may be mistaken. Only time will tell.

fnord

Lifer